If you have found your way to this article then you may be thinking about deactivating your Facebook account or deleting your Facebook account permanently. Many people feel the need of deactivating their Facebook accounts or even deleting them due to many reasons. One big reason to delete or deactivate your Facebook account may be that you may have created multiple accounts, and now you only use one of them so you want to delete the other unused account.
In this article, I will guide you through the step-by-step process of deactivating or deleting your Facebook account
Deactivating or deleting Facebook account
First, you need to sign in to your Facebook account, which you wish to deactivate or delete, through your web browser.
After signing-in to your account you will find a drop-down menu in the Top Right corner of your window, click it.
In the settings window, head to the left pan, there you will find Your Facebook Information option
Here you are, down in this window, you will see the option of Deactivation and Deletion.
As you click on the Deactivation and Deletion Option, you will have to select one of two options one to deactivate or second to delete your account.
If you want to deactivate your account, Facebook will take you to the deactivation screen. On the deactivation window, Facebook will ask you the reason for deactivation. If you own any page, you will have to determine the fate of that page as well. If you want to keep using the Facebook Messenger, you can select it on this page as well. After choosing the appropriate options, you can finally deactivate your Facebook account.
On the other hand, if you select to delete your account permanently, it will take you to the account deletion page. On this page, Facebook gives you the option to deactivate your account instead of deleting it. Here, it also gives you the option to download your personal information in case you want to keep it, also you get to set the fate of any page that you may own on Facebook, on this page. After selecting carefully, you can delete your Facebook account permanently.
Note: you can delete your account through a web browser only. In the mobile app, you get the option of deactivation only.